Create more balance in an unbalanced world.

 

bridge walk (2)

 

Life, in many ways, is a balancing act. There’s no question that when life gets chaotic, your health is often impacted and it’s becomes necessary to restore the equilibrium toward a more balanced life. This is a ‘task’ I’m working on. Well, it’s more like a labour of love in my case – but I’ve got the challenge in hand.

So what am I doing to find some balance in life?

I tend to take my cues from nature. As Earth’s seasons turn and change, I learn that my life, too, follows the same rhythm of constant transformation. If the wind of change is blowing, standing rigid will create unnecessary stress, while yielding (just a little) deflects this negative outcome. Natures calming and healing energy helps me align with my own inner nature, which balances me vibrationally’.

I actually aren’t very good with heights. My vestibular system is a bit out of whack. But every day on my bush-walk I let go and surrender, giving myself the opportunity to see/interact to my environment from a different perspective. To be honest – I do feel myself waiver, I feel the fear rise, I feel myself becoming unbalanced before my feet leave the ground. I look at the rickety wooden planks, the sharp sticks waiting below, and wonder if a deep calming breath will be enough to guide me to the other side. It’s a case of placing one foot in front of the other – and off I go! Some days it’s baby steps, side shuffles and fall-offs. Other days I have faltered – frozen to the spot. But each day I raise my head a little higher in my effort to create more balance in my unbalanced world. And at last, I’ve had a break through. I’ve made it to the other-side. I feel alive, revived, less fearful.

What is balance?

‘Balance’ of course also references the more metaphorical sense of balance. Making time for activities that nurture the many facets of a balanced life – my balanced life – will actually make my sense of balance stronger too. That’s why I’m working on my root chakra. It’s associated with the adrenal and endocrine system and as those already following my journey know – there’s not much fire in my furnace at the moment.

In protecting the physical body, the ROOT CHAKRA (which is the first chakra/energy centre situated at the base of the spine) provides a grounded connection which aids in making choices that reflect a sense of balance in life. In order to heal any root chakra imbalances it’s important to connect directly to the earth. And that is why, rather than going to the gym – nature walks, river swims, vegetable garden digging and bare-foot wanderings are my activities of choice. By doing this, I am anchoring myself in nature, in my immediate environment – developing a harmonious connection to my surroundings and fostering a greater sense of  ‘belonging’. This helps counter  my tendency to worry about safety and well-being, an element characteristic of first chakra imbalance.

I want my vital force to rise and thrive. 

Restoring the power of balance to my life is not only about taking back control of my health and well-being through physical activity, mindful introspection and clarity but also about working with with my own personal energy and the natural energies surrounding me. It’s about nourishing my body with foods specific to my health needs AND my ‘energy’ needs. Raw plant-based energy. Root vegetables, rainbow chard, protein rich seeds, red fruits and vegetables all make a daily appearance in my diet. It’s about being true to my needs and aspirations .

When we create harmony and balance in our minds, we WILL find it in our lives . I have 4 bridges like this to cross each day as the path wanders through the bush. I have conquered one and there are more to follow. Just like the fallen trees that are still anchored to the river banks –  I AM developing roots strong enough to support me wherever I AM.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Dorlynn Starn says:

    It’s good when we lean into our fears and good for you to be doing this exact thing! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment